Pateley Bridge

Friday 11 July 2014. After a rest day yesterday, it was back to the Nidderdale Way again today. It was a pleasantly warm morning with some cloud cover but this soon cleared to warm sunshine by early afternoon. There was a climb of 400ft in the first mile of this walk which took me from the side of the River Nidd in Pateley Bridge to the old a medieval church at the top of the hill. Having made the climb, I can understand why a more modern church was built in the centre of the town.

The 7.65 mile walk had a total ascent of just over 1,000ft and by the time that I reached the old church, most of the climbing was done. From here, I resumed on the route of the Nidderdale Way taking me down the valley, albeit at a reasonably high level. My descent down to Smelthouses and the Low Laithe took me beside Fell Beck and through a heavily wooded valley providing some welcome shade. Once in the valley bottom, I followed the course of the River Nidd through Glasshouses back to Pateley Bridge.

Leave a Reply

