Dales High Way – Day 6

Saturday 27 June 2014. Accommodation in the Ribblehead area is scarce and my b&b could best be described as “average” particularly as breakfast wasn’t served until 8.30 so it was diy cereal & juice for me.Setting out for Dent & then Sedbergh, I passed in front of the Ribblehead viaduct with cloud covering Whernside behind. I’m pleased to say that it stayed dry all day. My path took me alongside the railway line and around the northern flank of Whernside. This involved a climb of about 800ft but gave great views of the Howgills and the Lakes beyond. An equally steep descent took my down to Sedbergh having walked 8 miled by 11.10. The reason for such an early start was that I’d arranged to meet Jacqui to walk the last 5.5 miles to Sedbergh.
There was a music festival in Dent which delayed Jacqui’s bus, so when she arrived, it was time for bacon butty & a cup of tea before setting off for the second walk of the day and another climb of 500ft. We arrived in Sedbergh at 14.30 and had a relaxing late lunch.

Leave a Reply

