Dales High Way – Day 4

Thursday 26 June 2014. Malham b&b was fine but pub meal rubbish. Poor wi-fi signal in Settle b&b and SD card problems mean that this will be a text only blog post but I’ll try to add pics later.
After yesterday’s near 14 miler and 7 hours of walking it was a welcome relief to only walk 7.5 miles from Malham to Settle. An early start (8.40) meant that I had Malham Cove to myself. I still had a near 300ft climb up the steps at the side to the top of the Cove and a further climb up Watlowes. By the time that I reached Nappa Cross, I’d climbed about 1,000ft.
It was largely downhill from here, past Attamire Scar and into Settle for lunch.
I broke one of my Pacerpoles on Tuesday but on the way down to Settle, I came across a Leki pole propped up against a wall. My inital thoughts were to leave it there, but with a climb up Ingleborough tomorrow, I felt that it was devine providence and decided that my need was greater than the forgetful owner or other passers-by. I’m now the owner of a Leki pole which will be passed on to another needy walker at the end of this holiday.

Leave a Reply

