Dales High Way – Day 3

Wednesday 25 June 2014. My B&B last night in Skipton could best be described as “odd”. It was set amongst a number of commercial premises and from the outside looked more like a refugee hostel. Inside was a little better although my single room was in the eaves with a bath and no shower. Breakfast was “standard”.Reflecting on the first 2 days of the walk, I’ve come to the conclusion that anyone short on time could consider missing them out as “The Dales” don’t really start until after Skipton.
Today’s walk was 13.7 miles and was hard. An easy start through Skipton Castle Woods soon gave way to the slog up Sharp Haw where I stopped for an extended mid-morning break. A welcome downhill section followed after which I picked up the path from Flasby to Hetton. It was along here that I had another close encounter with a Buzzard, diving overhead to protect its territory. I stopped in Hetton for a pint at The Angel and an extended lunch break. During this stop, I had a Twitter exchange with Chris Grogan who, with her husband, developed the DHW.
Leaving Hetton, the path soon went uphill and this continued for the next 3 miles or so until I reached “The Weets”. This final climb was a real struggle and at the 10 mile point I hit “the wall” and had to stop for a rest, to cool down and take on some more fluids. There was a steep downhill section to Janet’s Foss and by now my thighs were burning. There was a mobile refreshments van at the bottom of the hill and I couldn’t resist buying an ice cream to give me a boost for the final leg to Malham.
I’ve just had a steak pie at The Buck which must rank as the worst meal that I’ve had for some time.

Leave a Reply

