Not Hopton Wafers

Sunday 15 June 2014. There’s an old saying that you “should make hay while the sun shines”. Well, this could also apply to walking. Yesterday, while the sun shone, I sat inside having a rest day watching sport on TV. It started at 08:30 watching New Zealand beating England at Rugby and ended at 01:00 today having just watched Italy beat England at football. Now, when I want to get out walking there is steady drizzle. I set off just before 09:00 for a gentle 6 mile walk from Hopton Wafers. It sounds more like a biscuit than a village but the link gives an insight into its origins. Anyway, it started to rain on my drive there, so I turned round and came back to the caravan.

It was a minor disappointment that I couldn’t walk on the final day of this holiday which I have to say has been great. Bea joined me for 3 walks, the last of which up Caer Caradoc was probably the best of the holiday. I’ve ticked off sections of the Offa’s Dyke which, whilst not in a truly mountainous area, still has plenty of steep ups and downs. A total of 66 miles and 13,500ft of ascent should prove to be good training for my 90 mile Dales High Way walk through God’s own county which starts in just over a week’s time. Let’s hope that the sun shines on me then as there will be no wimping out, whatever the weather!

Leave a Reply

