Damage Barton – Again

Sunday 11 May. Well, I survived another 24 hours of constant buffeting of my caravan as the gales continued unabated. Amanda & Josephine arrived at their holiday apartment in Mortehoe last night. Amanda took today off after a tiring drive down so I went to pick up Josephine and we drove the mile or so back to my caravan to start the walk. For the first mile and a half it was all downhill, retracing my steps from Friday until we reached the coast. From here it was to be a series of ups and downs as we followed the South West Coastal Path to Morte Point. Our first climb took us to the lighthouse at Bull Point with great views along the way.

ImageImage

Image

The next landmark on our route was Rockham Bay which can be seen in the next 3 pictures.

Image

Image

Image

It was a breezy and exhilarating walk which only served to emphasize the rugged nature of the Devon coastline.

Image

Image

On reaching Mortehoe we called in for a cup of tea with Amanda. I then made my way back to my caravan which meant an extra mile and a half for me and another 200ft of ascent, making a total of 6.5 miles and almost 1,600ft of ascent.

Image

Image

 

Leave a Reply

