Grinds Brook & Golden Clough

Wednesday 9 April. My plan for today was to start a walk from the free car park at Barber Booth. However, when I got there I discovered that it was out of use and reserved for the filming of the BBC series “The Village” http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p0162blq  A change of plan was required, so I drove a couple of miles to Edale only to find that the film crew had occupied half of this large car park as well.

Image

I had to pay £5 to park at Edale whilst I went off to do a walk that I led as a Fenland Ramblers away-day about 10 years ago. The route headed north out of Edale for the steep 1,100ft climb up Grinds Brook to the edge of the Kinder Plateau. The climb becomes something of a scramble in parts and was made all the more difficult by a strong headwind. I’d only been going for about 45 minutes when in cycling parlance I began to suffer from “the bonk” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hitting_the_wall and had to stop for coffee and a flapjack to boost my energy levels. After about 90 minutes, I made it to the top at just below 2,000ft. The following pictures were taken on the way up.

ImageImageImageImageOn the edge of the Kinder Plateau the going became a little easier with some interesting rock formations.

ImageImageImageA little further on and I was able to look back at my ascent route.

ImageImageThe morning cloud was starting to clear and gave me a chance to take this picture with Win Hill (distant left) and Lose Hill (closer right).

Image

Mam Tor was rather lost in the haze to the west but Edale village was enjoying more sunshine.

ImageImageThe whole route was just 6 miles but with over 1,600ft of ascent. My legs were aching on the way down and I have a suspicion that I might still be sore in the morning.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

