Hebden

Friday 7 March. I had a day off from walking yesterday to visit my sister-in-law in Harrogate and to sort out the printing of emails on her new Windows8 PC. The weather forecast was rain for most of the day but it turned out to be dry and cold.

There was a lot of rain overnight and until about 10am this morning but it was forecast to be a bright afternoon, if a little breezy. I delayed the start of my walk until just after 11am and set of from Hebden, near Grassington for what was planned to be a 7 mile walk. The first mile and a half took me uphill alongside Hebden Beck to the site of old lead mine workings. At this point, I should have crossed the beck on stepping stones but these were under water and meant an early end to my walk with a return back the way that I had come. A little disappointing at only 3 miles with 330ft of ascent. On the way back I was hit by a prolonged heavy shower which in some way justified the need to cut the walk short as I would have been even wetter had I been able to complete the full circuit.

Leave a Reply

