Upper Wharfedale

Wednesday 5 March. I started the day with a 10 mile drive along the route of the Tour de France to Buckden. It was a cool cloudy day with rain forecast at some time in the afternoon so I made an early start to my walk at 09:15. The route took me from Buckden to Cray and then to Hubberholme before returning alongside the River Wharfe.

The walk was only 5 miles with a total of 800ft of ascent, half of which came in the first three quarters of a mile. It was a steep gradient to start with but it then levelled out before dropping down to the stepping stone crossing of Cray Gill. A small uphill section then took me along a contouring path to Scar House from where there was a descent of 375ft to my coffee stop in Hubberholme. The last section of the walk followed the Dales Way and the River Wharfe back to Buckden. I stopped off on the drive back at Kilnsey Crag for a warming bowl of soup.

Leave a Reply

