Sunday Lunch

Sunday 1 September. Having failed in my attempt at a pub lunch in Horton-in-Ribblesdale on Friday, I decided to go a little more upmarket with Sunday lunch at Simonstone Hall. Bea, Amanda and I had dinner there a few years ago and although it was a little pricey, the quality was good and was matched by the surroundings. The hotel’s dining room looks out over Hardraw and down the valley towards Hawes. Lunch was excellent with a choice of beef, lamb & ham. Plenty of veg and the obligatory Yorkshire pudding.

As Simonstone Hall is only 1½ miles from my caravan, my intention was to walk there as it would give me some exercise and also allow me to have a drink without running the risk of a driving offence. However, it was very autumnal here in Hawes today; cool with a strong wind, so I took the lazy option and went in the car. I booked the carvery Sunday lunch for 12:00 noon to make sure that I would be back in time for a double header afternoon of football on TV.

Leave a Reply

