Hawes Roadworks

Thursday 29 August. It seems like I’ve chosen the wrong time to stay in Hawes as there is road re-surfacing going on this week and next. This week’s works are on the approach road from the east with a diversion in place along the minor road north of the A684 joining Bainbridge with Hardraw and Appersett. This hasn’t caused me any problems but the fun starts on Monday 2 Sep when the one-way system through the town centre will be closed. For me, this will mean that I’ll have to head north from my caravan site towards Hardraw and to come back into town via Appersett. There shouldn’t be any problems from there to access the B6255 at the YHA junction.

My plan for today was to do a 4 mile walk straight from my caravan which would take me up to the hills through Burtersett and to return via Gayle. I’d hardly got out of town when it started to drizzle and I could see the rain approaching from the west. Although it was only a short walk, it was one that I’d done before and it wasn’t worth getting wet. So, instead, I headed back into town where I bought some Wensleydale cheese, crackers & pickle to enjoy whilst waiting for the rain to clear.

Leave a Reply

