Windy Gyle

Friday 23 August. Having done The Cheviot earlier this week, I couldn’t leave without tackling Windy Gyle. The weather forecast was good so I drove down the length of Coquetdale to the starting point of this 7½ mile walk with 1,790ft of ascent. The climbing started immediately on leaving the car as I followed “The Street” up to the border ridge and the Pennine Way. I came across a couple of wild Cheviot goats, one of which kindly posed for a photo. I thought that the climbing had finished when I got to the Pennine Way but there was one more pull to tackle with a further 300ft to the summit shelter & trig point on Windy Gyle. It lived up to its name as there was more than a strong wind blowing on top. It had taken me 2¾ hours to do the 4¾ miles to the summit and I hadn’t met another soul on the way. The return route was much shorter at 2¾ miles and, as it was all downhill, it only took me 65 minutes to get back to the car. The shorter route up to Windy Gyle seemed more popular as I passed 8 walkers making their way to the top. One of them was a lady with a prosthetic leg; not something that I’ve come across before.

Leave a Reply

