Coniston Reflections

Well, 2 weeks ago I was on the verge of cancelling my walking holiday in and around Coniston as my left foot was far too painful. However, I took the opportunity of visiting the Rebound Clinic in Settle on the 2nd day of my holiday where Andrew Stanley made me a pair of temporary orthotics. These did the job by realigning the way in which I place my foot on the ground whilst also relieving pressure on my metatarsal heads. They produced an 80% improvement in my condition and whilst I’m still experiencing some discomfort, I managed to walk over 50 miles including a couple of strenuous 6 mile hill climbs.

I’m going back to see Andrew in 6 weeks time when he’ll make me some more permanent orthotics which I hope will reduce the foot pain even more. I visited a consultant at the Fitzwilliam Hospital in Peterborough today where I expected to have an MRI scan. Instead, I had more x-rays and the consultant made a thorough physical examination of my foot. His thoughts were to continue along the orthotics route and to see him again in 3 months. If there hasn’t been any improvement by then, he will consider an ultrasound scan, injections and/or alternative NHS funded orthotics. So, I guess that it is just a waiting game but I’m still off for my month’s holiday in Northumberland & Hawes.

Leave a Reply

