Levers Water

Friday 19 July. To beat the heat, I set off from Coniston at just before 6am this morning to make my way to Levers Water. Climbing up through the Coppermines Valley, I passed the YHA before arriving at Levers Water where there were a couple of “wild campers” on the far side of the reservoir. It was getting really hot by 8am when I met a few groups of DofE youngsters making their way up to the Old Man. They were really going to suffer today. I made my way back down through Boulder Valley and Crowberry Haws before rejoining my outward path at the Miners Bridge. The route was 5.4 miles with just over 1,600ft of ascent. I was back in Coniston at 08:40 and had to wait until 9am for the café to open when I could have a well deserved breakfast of a pot of tea and bacon butty. It was 16c when I started my walk and 25c by the time that I’d finished.

Leave a Reply

