Ravenglass

Friday 12 July. I decided that I would do a linear walk today and drove 30 miles or so to Ravenglass. The A593 from Torver isn’t a great road so I came back a different way, on the same route that I used when towing my caravan here on Monday. The 6.1 mile walk with 1,050ft of ascent took me towards Muncaster Castle and then on to Muncaster Fell, the high point of which was Hooker Crag. From here it was largely downhill but undulating even so. I arrived at Irton Road station at just past noon, not knowing what time the next train would be. Luckily, it was due at 12.08 but didn’t arrive until 12:20. A 15 minutes train ride took me back to the car at Ravenglass station and a welcome cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

