Bowness-on-Windermere

Tuesday 9 July. The incredibly hot weather continues; too hot for serious walking so; instead, I decided to take a cruise down Lake Windermere and to combine this with a very short walk. I drove 10 miles or so to Lakeside, near Newby Bridge, to catch the ferry to Bowness-on-Winderemere. £10 return for a 40 minutes cruise each way. As expected, Bowness was heaving with “tourists”, me included, and isn’t really my kind of place. Far too busy! After a quick tour of the town and the cheap walking clothing shops, I made my escape up the route of the Dales Way and on to Brant Fell where I was able to find some peace & quiet, to eat my lunch and to drink in the views north and south down Lake Winderemere.

The walk was only 3 miles with less than 500ft of ascent but I was pleased that my foot wasn’t too bad with only minor discomfort towards the end.

Leave a Reply

