Foot Update

Thursday 27 June. After visiting a local podiatrist on 31 May, having had my foot x-rayed on 4 June and two subsequent visits to my GP, I seemed no further forward in getting to the bottom of my foot problem, both with diagnosis and treatment. So, I thought that I’d seek a second opinion from another podiatrist, this time in Peterborough. I must say that she instilled a greater degree of confidence in her examination and diagnosis of my foot pain. Thankfully, she has ruled out a Neuroma; something that my GP also excluded so the treatment shouldn’t be too complicated.

My problem falls under the general term of “Metatasalgia” which covers a multitude of issues, but in my case is more likely to be Capulitis. Surrounding the joint connecting the metatarsal bone to the toe bone is a fibrous tissue which holds the fluid that lubricates the joint. This fibrous tissue is called the Capsule. If there is too much pressure on the particular joint, then the capsule becomes inflamed. The pain that this causes can be relieved by placing a pad just behind the affected metatarsal to slightly raise the bed of the foot and remove the pressure from the metatarsal head. I bought some metatarsal pads and used them on the excruciatingly painful Pingo Trail walk on 9 June. The big mistake was to place the pad directly under the metatarsal head which had the effect of increasing the pressure rather than relieving it. I’ve since learned that it should be placed further back to raise the foot behind the metatarsal head.

With my new found knowledge, I’ve done a couple of local half mile walks. The first was without the pad and this still caused real pain. The second was with the pad, correctly positioned, and it was relatively pain free. Obviously, I need to put this to a more sustained test if I’m to regain my confidence in walking longer distances.

The good news is that a short term remedy seems to be close to hand. The other piece of good news is the Peterborough based podiatrist undertook to write to my GP to recommend that I have an ultra-sound scan of my foot to identify any soft tissue damage and that this might be treated by a cortisone injection to settle the foot down. This will, no doubt, take some time to sort out but I don’t really want to pay BUPA £222 for an ultra-sound scan if I can get it done reasonably quickly on the NHS.

Buoyed by this good news, my current thinking is that I’ll go off, as planned, to Coniston for 2 weeks and hope that in the 3 weeks thereafter that I can get the scan/injection.

There has been a lot of boring text to read so I thought that I’d add a picture taken on my half mile walk around Benwick.

Leave a Reply

