Llangollen History Trail

Tuesday 18 June. At last a warm day and I decided that I’d try something a little easier with the Llangollen History Trail. It was supposed to be 6 miles but I made it 6.8 miles with 1,200ft of ascent and I cut out the climb to Castell Dinas Bran. Starting from the town centre, I followed the tow-path of the Llangollen Canal for a couple of miles to the Horseshoe Falls. This is where 12 million gallons of water are extracted each day from the River Dee to top up the canal. The next stop was Valle Crucis Abbey which was founded by the Cistercian monks in 1201. At this point my foot began to ache and I was looking for the shortest way back. The route should have included a visit to Castell Dinas Bran but this would have required a climb of 450ft and, feeling the way I did, I decided to give this a miss and headed directly back to Llangollen. The Castell was built in the 1260s by Welsh Prince Gruffudd ap Madoc and was abandoned to the English forces of Edward 1 in 1277.

The foot isn’t getting any better and I’ve booked myself in to the Doctors on 27 June to see if there is anything that can be done to put it right.

Leave a Reply

