The New Precipice Walk from LLanelltyd

Monday 17 June. My foot didn’t feel too bad after yesterday’s short walk so today was intended to be kill or cure with an assault on Cadair Idris. There were a few spots of rain on the drive there and I could see that the top of Cadair Idris was shrouded in cloud so this called for a quick change of plan. I had all of my walks details in the car with me so I diverted to nearby Llanelltyd to do the New Precipice walk. This was 5¾ miles with 2,160ft of ascent. The title might suggest some element of danger but it was a track about 4 or 5 feet wide contouring around the side of Foel Ispri. There was quite a bit of “up” to get there and, naturally, an equal amount of “down” but it was worth it as the terrace provided excellent views across to Cadair Idris and down the Afon Mawddach estuary as far as Barmouth. My lunch stop half way along the terrace was ideal and I could see that Cadair Idris was now cloud free although this didn’t last long as the clouds gathered later on.

My foot was painful towards the end and I think that an easier day is called for tomorrow before I try again for Cadair Idris.

Leave a Reply

