Rhewl & Pontcysyllte Aqueduct

Sunday 16 June. It has stopped raining at last. Thin cloud cover and about 17c – yippee!

It was time to put my sore foot to the test and without the aid of painkillers. I selected a 3.4 mile route with 1,370ft of ascent. The walk started from outside the Hebron Chapel at Rhewl. A short section of level road walking was quickly followed by an ever climbing route on farm access tracks and finally a steep footpath to the hause between Moel Morfydd and Moel Gamelin. I passed on climbing the latter as the path was something like 1in3 up a scree slope. It was at this point that I saw a fell runner and even he was reduced to a steady plod as he made his way up Moel Gamelin (1,800ft). My high point was the hause at 1,440ft and for me it was all downhill from here on. A nice contouring path gave way to a small road where I was surprised to see Bluebells still in flower in the middle of June. When I was about ¾ of the way down I met 3 groups of about 25 DofE kids who were going up the hill I had just come down. They seemed exhausted carrying their heavy packs & tents. I told them that they still had some way to go.

Whilst in the area I made the short drive to Pontcysyllte to see and walk across the aqueduct carrying the Llangollen Canal over the River Dee. It was busy with tourists who, like me, seemed to be there just to walk across the aqueduct and back.

My foot still felt sore, at times, on the hill walk and when crossing the aqueduct but at least I didn’t need any painkillers. How it will fare on a longer walk, only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

