May Holiday (Reflections)

Well, I’m home again after 4 weeks away and it feels more like winter than summer. The temperature is struggling to reach double figures, the central heating is on, its raining and my garden lawns look more like hay meadows.

The weather for the two weeks in the Lake District could best be described as “mixed”. There were some warm sunny days but these were outnumbered by showery days. Consequently, I only managed 6 walks totalling 36.4 miles with 9,700ft of ascent. The highlights were Hopegill Head & Sheffield Pike; two new Wainwrights for my tick list.

The drive to Scotland was something of a nightmare with rain which turned to snow and temperatures outside the car down to 3c. The road alongside Loch Lomond is just as bad as I remember; narrow and winding with barely room for my caravan, never mind the HGVs and Coaches the also use the A82 as their primary north/south route. I arrived in pouring rain and departed in similar conditions. Luckily, the weather in between wasn’t too bad. There were several sunny days and no midges which was a blessing. It is difficult to pick out individual walks but the 3 that Bea & I did after Karen had gone home were a treat. It is a pity that she missed out on these but I think that she enjoyed Glen Nevis and the section of the West Highland Way. The better weather meant that I was able to do 10 walks totalling 65.75 miles and 11,535ft of ascent.

The holiday total was 16 walks totalling 102 miles and 21,000ft of ascent. This brings my total mileage for the year up to 392.

Leave a Reply

