Aira Force

Monday 6 May. The weather gods aren’t being kind to me on this holiday and it remains stubbornly cool with low cloud. I really didn’t know what to do today. My first thought was to catch the Ullswater ferry from Pooley Bridge to Howtown and then walk back over the fells. However, this didn’t offer any escape routes so I decided to do something else. Instead, I drove to near Glenridding with the intention of climbing Sheffield Pike. Half a mile into this route, I discovered that there was a strong cold wind blowing and the felltops were covered in cloud, so this walk was abandoned in favour of Plan C.

This was a short walk to look at Aira Force and then a visit to Rheged where there is free wi-fi and I can update my blog and catch up with the world. Not very exiting or challenging but at least it got me out of the caravan for a few hours.

Leave a Reply

