Sedbergh & Garsdale

Saturday 13 April. More new ground for me today as I followed a HF Holidays self-guided route from Sedbergh to Garsdale and back. It was a 7¾ mile walk with 960ft of ascent. The outward leg climbed up onto the fellside of Garsdale and then dropped down towards the River Rawthey on the way back to Sedbergh.

It was nice to see the sun and the temperature gauge on my car read 14c on my return. The seasons still seem to be out of kilter as I saw a large flock of Fieldfare which should have left our shores by now and I also saw my first Swallow so it must be summer?

The picture titled “My flock” was taken when I entered a field and from all corners sheep and their lambs came running towards me. They must have mistaken me for a farmer and thought that they were going to be fed. Despite shooing they followed me all the way to the gate where I made my escape.

Leave a Reply

