Crinkle Crags

My car has been fixed so, after two wasted days, I was able to start my holiday. I’ve posted a picture of a cloud inversion taken from my caravan at 07:00 this morning.

My walk was a strenuous 7.5 mile climb of Pike O’Blisco and Crinkle Crags with a total ascent of 3,260ft. The 1,900ft climb to the summit of Pike o’Blisco (2,200ft) was a real slog and took me a little over 2 hours. From here it was 500ft downhill to Red Tarn before climbing again to the summit of Crinkle Crags at Long Top (2,750ft). The Crinkle’s are a series of minor summits and to reach each of them you have to lose height before climbing again. It is rocky underfoot and makes for extremly slow going – well, for me it did.

The end of the Crinkle’s is marked by arriving at Three Tarns. From here you have a choice of routes and if you have the stamina you can climb an additional 450ft to the summit of Bow Fell at 2,850ft. This wasn’t for me today and I know my limits which were very nearly exposed on the 2,000ft descent down the band. This is knee jarring all the way but, surprisingly, I didn’t feel any real pain although my legs were just about giving out on my by the time that I got to the bottom.

The walk took me 7 hours to complete and I had run out of water, on a very hot day, before descending The Band. To compensate, I made my way to the Old Dungeon Ghyll pub for a welcome pint.

Img_0791

Img_0772

Img_0774Img_0773Img_0783Img_0788Img_0789Img_0790

Leave a Reply

