St Sunday Crag & Fairfield

What a day! If yesterdays drive to Keswick was hell then today’s walk was just heaven. A perfect summers day in late March – too hot really and my legs and arms are sunburnt. I took the precaution of applying sun cream to my neck & face but wasn’t expecting to be wearing so few clothes. The short drive to the start of the walk was done in long trousers and a short sleeve shirt topped off with a thin pullover. The trousers were replaced by shorts in the car park before setting off on the walk and the pullover came off on the first incline.

I’d set myself something of a challenge with this 9 mile walk including 3,500ft of ascent. Starting from Patterdale at 500ft, I made the steady climb to the summit of St Sunday Crag at 2,700ft. From here there was more up and down before reaching Fairfield at 2,850ft. On the way I could see across to Striding Edge & Helvellyn while down below was Grisedale Tarn. The last time I was there was on my Coast to Coast walk last June when the weather was miserable: cold, raining and blowing a gale – what a contrast.

As they say, what goes up must come down so I now had a 3,500ft descent. Some of it was easy and in some parts it was a scramble. The last mile or so was along the valley bottom in Patterdale where I was able to enjoy the fabulous scenery of the surrounding fells.

Img_0160Img_0163Img_0172Img_0177Img_0178Img_0179Img_0182Img_0184

Leave a Reply

