Place Fell – eventually!

My plan for today was to do a walk from the remote location of Mardale Head at the far end of Haweswater. Access is via narrow country roads so I set up my sat nav to take me there. I thought that Mondays drive to the Lakes was the journey from hell but today beat it by far. My sat nav took me to completely the wrong place and some 3 or 4 miles down a farm access road only just wide enough for my car with stone walls on either side. The road was a dead end finishing in a farm yard where I had no option but to turn around and go back the way I had come. My faith in sat nav completely destroyed, it was back to a road map and general sense of direction which eventually saw me on the correct road to Haweswater. I thought that it couldn’t get worse but it did! The road alongside Haweswater to Mardale Head was closed for the installation of a mains water supply to a local hotel and I had no option but to abandon all thoughts of doing the planned walk.

My fall back position was to head to Patterdale and do a 7½ mile walk with 2,500ft of ascent over Place Fell. The first part of this route was familiar to me as it was along the Coast to Coast route that I did last year. On reaching Boredale Hause I left the C2C route and headed north for the summit of Place Fell at 2,150ft. From here it was largely downhill to the shores of Ullswater and back to Patterdale.

Img_0213Img_0218Img_0221Img_0222Img_0224

Leave a Reply

