Blencathra

After the exertions and sunburn of yesterday, I thought that I’d tackle something a little easier with the precaution of applying sun cream before setting off. Although only 4 miles in length, my walk up Blencathra included a total ascent of 2,160ft to the summit at 2,820ft. Starting from Scales, it was pretty much straight up to the top. I wasn’t in a hurry and it was about 20c, so I stopped once or twice on Doddick Fell to take in the views. I didn’t see any other walkers until reaching Blencathra summit where it became a little busier.

My route down was dominated by views of Sharp Edge. This is a notoriously difficult route and several walkers have fallen off to their deaths. Needless to say, I stayed well clear of it but took a few photographs of more intrepid walkers on their way up.

Img_0186Img_0189Img_0190Img_0194Img_0204Img_0208Img_0212

Leave a Reply

