Ashford in the Water & Monsal

The early morning fog soon lifted to leave a dry if somewhat dull day – even so, not bad for walking and I spent most of the day without a coat. The 9 mile walk with 1,730ft of ascent which started from Ashford in the Water was one that I had led for our group about 8 years ago. There was a steady walk to Great Longstone where the going got a little harder with a 600ft climb to the top of Longstone Moor. From here it was largely downhill until I climbed out of Cressbrook Dale and up towards Monsal Head.

Although it wasn’t on my planned route, I just had to walk through one of the recently re-opened railway tunnels on the Monsal Trail. It only took 5 minutes each way.

As I was in no hurry, I stopped for a pot of tea and a scone in a caf?? at Monsal Head before wending my way back to Ashford.

Img_0101Img_0104Img_0105Img_0106Img_0107Img_0110Img_0111Img_0115

Leave a Reply

