Christmas Recce

Although our group doesn’t have a walk planned over the Christmas period, it has become something of a tradition for me to lead a more adventurous walk at this time. In recent years, we’ve been to the Peak District; but I thought that we should head south for a change. Many years ago I organised an away weekend in the Chilterns and I thought that it would be a good idea to revisit this area. The walk I’ll be doing at 10:30 on Tuesday 27th December is 7 miles with 1,300ft of ascent starting from the Bridgewater Monument on the National Trust Ashridge Estate. This is about 90 miles from Wisbech and quite close to Dunstable (HP4 1LX). I’ll produce a hand-out and post more details on the “Special Event” page of our main website.

As the hot weather continues (27 degrees) I thought that I’d take myself off to do a recce. It was a 70 mile drive for me (not much further than Cromer) and only took me about 90 minutes each way. Well worth the effort, I think, as the photos prove.

Dscn2398Dscn2400Dscn2403Dscn2406Dscn2408Dscn2410

Leave a Reply

