Pen-y-ghent

Today’s walk was just about as perfect as it gets. Not too long, just 6 miles and with a steady climb of 1570ft. I suppose that for the last day of summer, the weather wasn’t that great but it was ideal for hill walking: dry, no wind and not too warm. I hadn’t done Pen-y-ghent since before I moved to Cambridgeshire some 16 years ago so it was great to be able to revisit it today. My route was a clockwise circuit following the Pennine Way on the ascent and, until I reached the top, I only met one other walker. He was a guy who had been chatting in the café before the walk who was in the middle of a trek from John O’Groats to Lands End – rather him then me! The descent, off the southern end of the hill, was a little hairy with a steep scramble, and had I known before, then I would have done it the opposite way around which is what the 40 or so walkers I met on the way down were doing. (Picture 4 with the couple going up shows the easier part of my descent). Nonetheless, this must rate as one my best walks of the year.

 

Dscn2344Dscn2346Dscn2351Dscn2356Dscn2357Dscn2358

Leave a Reply

