Dorset Reflections

Dorset-coat-arms

I was looking for an image which captures the spirit of Dorset and, as you have seen most of my holiday snaps, I thought that I would post a picture of the County’s Coat of Arms.

I must say that I’ve been incredibly lucky with the weather so far this year and managed 9 consecutive days of walking on this holiday without any rain. The walks total was 71 miles and 10,500ft of ascent. The total for holidays this year is 156 miles and 23,000ft of ascent. Still some way short of the Coast to Coast walk which will be my next great adventure and will be reported in a separate blog: http://www.benwickrambler.walkingplaces.co.uk/

Back to Dorset, I said on day one that the walk along the cliffs at Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door couldn’t be bettered but it was almost matched by the walks to Old Harry Rocks and the crossing of Golden Cap on the way from Charmouth to Bridport. This latter walk left me with aching legs the following day – I think it was the downs rather than the ups that caused this.

There were some nice inland walks but, with the SWCP in such close proximity, I couldn’t resist the call of the sea and therefore favoured the coastal walks.

 

 

Leave a Reply

