Charmouth to Bridport via Golden Cap

More of the South West Coast Path today. I decided to drive to Bridport, park the car, catch the bus to Charmouth and then walk back on the SWCP crossing Golden Cap on the way. This is the highest point on the south coast at 620ft and involved a steep climb of about 500ft from the foot to the top. This was one of many ups and downs on a walk of 9?? miles with 2200ft of ascent.

As can be seen from the pictures, it was a beautiful sunny day and, as I was making another early start, I decided to treat myself to a pot of tea and a bacon sandwich on the sea front at Charmouth before setting off.

Whilst waiting for the bus in Bridport, I got chatting to a fellow RA member who informed me, that because of a landslip, the footpath had been diverted from Charmouth but many walkers were ignoring this and taking their chance of not falling into the sea. In reality, the landslip was well back from the cliff edge and I’m glad that I took my chance and stuck with the non-diverted route.

I was beginning to wonder where all the SWCP walkers were as I didn’t see anyone until in the vicinity of Golden Cap. This was clearly the challenge for many, as it was for me.

From Golden Cap there was a series of steep ups and down until I came to the harbour at West Bay. It was here where I turned inland to walk back to Bridport. A really nice walk but I was glad when it was finished.

Dscn1944Dscn1951Dscn1952Dscn1956Dscn1958Dscn1960Dscn1961Dscn1964Dscn1966

Leave a Reply

