Cerne Abbas Giant

It was a bright if breezy start to the day and although I’d set out in shorts, I quickly had to put on a thin jacket to ward off the cold. It wasn’t too bad as I got warmed up and the afternoon turned out to be the warmest since I arrived at Wareham. The forecast for next week doesn’t seem to contain any rain – I hope that they are right.

Today’s walk was 7½ miles with 1250ft of ascent. Setting off from the small village of Cerne Abbas, I started the ascent of Giant Hill where the famous outline of the Cerne Abbas Giant can be found. Although I didn’t know it, my route took me just below the feet of the Giant (you can’t see it properly until you are some distance from it). The climb continued onto Little Minterne Hill from where there was a good view down to Minterne Magna House.

I decided to have a short break in the hamlet of Minterne Magna before moving on to Up Cerne and its beautiful Manor House. More uphill followed before eventually descending back to Cerne Abbas and the tourist’s viewing point. You don’t get a really good view from there and need to be higher up.

I must say that I was a little disappointed by the Giant which is a chalk outline and doesn’t compare with the Kilburn White Horse on Sutton Bank in Yorkshire. Well it wouldn’t, would it? By way of comparison, I’ve added professional images of both of them.

 

Dscn1942Dscn1935Dscn1939Dscn1940-1Dscn1941GiantWhite_horse

Leave a Reply

