Portland Bill

I had a 30 mile drive to the Isle of Portland for today’s walk from Portland Bill. It is one of those iconic landmarks that feature in every shipping weather forecast and I couldn’t resist taking a trip out there. The drive took me around the edge of Dorchester & Weymouth before passing through the town of Portland with views of Chesil Beach. As well as being famous for its 3 lighthouses, the island is also known for its Portland Stone and my walk took me through a number of disused quarries. It seemed to me as if all of the stone must have been used elsewhere as the architecture of many of the islands buildings left a great deal to be desired.

The walk was 7?? miles with 1300ft of ascent. From the tip of the island (or bill) I headed north up the eastern coast with views across Weymouth Bay to where I had been walking a couple of days ago near Lulworth & Durdle Door. On reaching Portland Prison, I turned inland to cross through a more built up part of the island and then headed back along the western cliffs. Although it was a very breezy day, I still had to stop after about an hour to change from long trousers to shorts.

I’ve been lucky with the weather, so far, and haven’t seen any rain. It was noticeable that the road from Dorchester to Weymouth had been recently improved; no doubt in preparation for the Olympic sailing competitions which will be held at Weymouth Bay.

Dscn1900Dscn1902Dscn1901Dscn1903Dscn1904Dscn1905Dscn1906

Leave a Reply

