Bluebells

The weather was too good to stay indoors today, so I took myself off to do what is becoming one of my favourite local walks from Wittering, through Thornhaugh & the outskirts of Wansford. It is about 7 miles with 550ft of ascent. I must like it as I did it twice in one week: once with the Thursday Strollers and again with the Peterborough Younger Walkers. I wasn’t really expecting the wonderful display of bluebells, but couldn’t resist sharing a picture or two. They seem to be at their best just now and I wonder what they will be like on 8 May when I lead our own “Bluebells Walk” at Mannington? I hope that they haven’t finished by then. Another surprise was to hear my first Cuckoo of the season. This bird is often heard but seldom seen so I’ve added a picture taken from the internet.

Dscn1841Dscn1844Dscn1845Cuckoo_1411214c

Leave a Reply

