Broadway Reflections

Broadway

Well, I’m back from the first holiday of the season based at Broadway in the Cotwolds. 11 consecutive days walking totalling just short of 85 miles with 12,500 of ascent. Not bad for a first outing, but I’ll need to more than double this with just an extra 6 days when I do the Coast to Coast in June. I can’t say that I ever felt too tired even with 4 days of 9 mile+ walking. Stepping it up to an average of over 11 miles per day with a few 14 mile legs should be within my capabilities. I’ll find out all too soon.

It was good to have the company of Karen & Barry during the first week when the weather developed into something akin to summer. The walk from Ilmington was just about as perfect as one could wish for and lunch at Hidcote Manor only added to the enjoyment. As Karen & Barry left, I was then joined by Stewart Wylie from the Peterborough Thursday Strollers. It was at this point that the stakes were raised and we undertook a series of more challenging walks, both in length and ascent. The circuit of Cleeve Common was a walk that I had done before, in part, but as became the norm, we added a few extra miles for good measure. The highlight of the holiday was the bacon sandwich at the mid-point on the slog up and down the Malvern Hills. The weather, for April, was exceptional and I doubt very much that my other holidays planned throughout the summer will be quite as dry or sunny.

Leave a Reply

