A better day!

Higger_tor

After the disappointments of yesterday, I’m pleased to report that today was a better day – that wouldn’t be too difficult. I was camped out at the Vauxhall dealers in Chesterfield in time for them opening at 08:00. I left the car with them and went off on foot to a nearby Morrison’s for a coffee and some essential shopping. Returning to the garage an hour later I was pleased to learn that they had fitted a new boot lock motor and that the car was fixed at no charge to me. The cost of ??120 being covered by the Network Q warranty provided when I bought the car. The warranty has proven invaluable as it recently saved me a bill of ??370 to replace the alternator. Not wanting to waste the day, on my way back from Chesterfield I stopped off at the National Trust Longshaw Estate to recce a potential post-Christmas walk on Burbage Edge and Higger Tor. This walk of just under 6 miles with 1,150ft of ascent was okay but perhaps a little too easy/short to make the journey from Cambridgeshire worthwhile. There was an almost gale-force wind blowing but luckily it didn’t start to rain until the last 20 minutes of the walk. A bowl of soup at the NT caf?? was most welcome on my return. I think that I’ll try to find another post-Christmas walk before I return home.

Leave a Reply

