The RSPB: Leighton Moss

Media_httpwwwrspborgu_nzsci

After a 5 hour and 240 mile drive to Meathop yesterday, I decided that I needed to get out for some fresh air. The weather forecast for today (Tuesday) wasn’t that great so instead of heading for the hills, I decided that a shorter walk around Leighton Moss RSPB reserve was in order. The weather wasn’t as idyllic as that shown in the picture and a heavy shower started just as I arrived in the car park, justifying my choice of activity for the day. Mid-August isn’t a good time to go birding and other than a few ducks etc, there wasn’t much to see although there were 4 red deer feeding on the vegetation across the lagoon. I didn’t stay too long before going to a newly opened shopping mall in Kendal where I was in and out in 10 minutes – what a waste of time! Lets hope the weather is better tomorrow and the heavy showers abate.

Leave a Reply

