North Yorks Moors Reflections

I was able to walk on 7 out of 10 days at whilst at Wombleton and on one of the other days I took the steam train to Whitby. All in all the weather wasn’t too bad and if I hadn’t taken notice of a poor weather forecast, I could have squeezed in another days walking. Unless you are mad keen on steam trains then I wouldn’t recommend the journey from Pickering to Whitby as the first half is in wooded valleys with restricted views, it’s too slow and costs £21 return. The walking in the Helmsley area was largely the same with many of the walks that I had chosen following access tracks on the moor tops for grouse shooting. There is certainly a lot of space and very few other walkers. During the holiday, I walked a 47½ miles with 7,600ft of ascent bring the season’s total to 275½ miles and 53,600ft of ascent (almost twice the height of Everest).

Leave a Reply

