Rosedale Abbey

Today’s walk was based in and around the small village of Rosedale Abbey. Despite its name, there has never been an abbey here! There was, however, a small Cistercian nunnery of which only a stone turret or belfry can be seen today. The walk was 5?? miles with 850ft of ascent. Unlike recent walks, this was largely farming countryside with some wooded areas. As I stopped for refreshments at the half way point, I could see rain advancing down the valley towards me. So, for the first time for a while, I pulled on the waterproofs to protect me against the impending downpour. Luckily, it only lasted for about 5 minutes, but without the waterproofs, I would have got extremely wet, even in this short time.

Leave a Reply

