Helmsley Moor

Dscn1608

Today’s walk was supposed to be 5 miles but due to navigational issues, I ended up by doing 6 miles with 550ft of ascent. The walk around Helmsley Moor included an unmarked section of open moorland which, when combined with minimal instructions, meant that although I was roughly walking the intended route, I did it in the reverse direction to that planned. At one point, despite the aid of GPS, I took out my compass but didn’t need to resort to it as the landmark of Piethorn Farm came into view. I was glad of good visibility as it would have been far more difficult in the mist.

Leave a Reply

