Rievaulx Abbey

Today’s walk was 6 miles with 1,200ft of ascent based on Rievaulx Abbey. I was reliving a walk of some 40 years or more ago when I was last here with the Boy Scouts. Obviously, I couldn’t remember the exact route of my youth, but I do recall walking from past Rievaulx Abbey on route to Helmsley. The first half of today’s walk was on minor roads and on paths in a steep wooded valley and wasn’t that great. There was a short climb to Old Byland where I exited the valley and had some good views of the surrounding countryside. The second half of the route in Ryedale was far more scenic and ended with good views of Rievaulx Abbey without having to pay the English Heritage admission fee.

Dscn1606Dscn1599Dscn1604

Leave a Reply

