Wet Wombleton

I’m on holiday again; this time at Wombleton (4 miles from Helmsley) on the southern edge of the North Yorks Moors. When I arrived yesterday, it was incredibly hot & sunny with the sweat pouring out of me as I erected the caravan awning. Sadly, the good weather was short lived and it started to rain at about 6pm and only got heavier throughout the night – so much so, that the sound of the rain beating on the caravan had me out of bed at 4:30am and I’m now writing this blog at 6am on Wednesday 20 July. The weather forecast for the next few days doesn’t look good and it seems that I’ll be confined to base instead of getting out walking. Luckily, I have hours of TV programmes stored on Sky+ to watch, which is a good thing as setting up the satellite dish yesterday was problematical and I only manage a weak signal which deteriorates as the cloud cover increases. I’m not alone with this problem as the guy in the next door caravan is having similar problems. Given that satellite reception is marginal, I thought that I would try to tune in to digital TV using the integral Freeview receiver in my TV. The first task was to point the aerial in the right direction and then to work out how to tune in to the digital stations. These hurdles overcome, I now have all of the main TV stations on digital TV and can use these as a back-up in the event that satellite becomes unusable.

Leave a Reply

