Mynydd Mawr (2,300ft)

I decided today to take on something of a challenge with the 6 mile out & back, 1,900 ft ascent of Mynydd Mawr which lies just to the west of Snowdon. As it was a Saturday, I decided on what I thought would be a ???quieter??? hill and was proven right as I only saw 7 other walkers on this route. The last of these was a Park Ranger who stopped to have a chat with me. I asked him for a translation of Mynydd Mawr and his answer was ???big hill???. Well, having done it, I would call it a bloody big hill. The ascent in parts must have been 1in3 but I managed to plod my way to the top. There was a strong wind blowing at the summit and the temperature couldn???t have been more than 4 or 5 degrees. So it was a quick turn around and back down the way I came.

Dscn1495Dscn1496Dscn1491Dscn1489Dscn1490Dscn1497

Leave a Reply

